Bücco - Ortho guide
Other instructions

Other instructions

Musical instruments

Certain musical instruments have mouthpieces which contact the teeth when played. Bring the mouthpiece with you so that we can see where it contacts your teeth or appliances. This will permit us to better advise you.

Sports

It is equally important to protect your appliances during sport activities. Certain sports require the wearing of a mouthguard; it is obvious that boxing is not permitted. You can swim with your appliances since they will not rust.

Clothes

Be careful not to get your appliances caught in someone else’s sweater. It’s both bad for your braces and the sweater.

If something breaks

Please advise us even if it happens only a few days before your visit and even if there is no pain or discomfort. This will allow us to schedule our time properly. Please help us help you.

Sensitive teeth at the start of treatment

Your teeth may be sensitive during 2 or 3 days following each appointment, especially at the beginning of treatment. This is unfortunately a normal consequence and it is suggested that you have a softer diet during that time. If the pain is too intense you may take an analgesic such as Tylenol, Advil, etc.

The wax sticks which were given to you once the braces were placed only need to be used if your cheeks or lips become irritated. If this discomfort continues, please let us know so we can make the necessary adjustments. There is usually a period of adaptation during the first 7 to 10 days and the irritation (which often feels like a burning sensation on the lips and cheeks) will gradually disappear. During this period, try to avoid using the wax since this will allow your cheeks and lips to become more resistant; use the wax only if an ulceration forms on the tissues.

There is no reason to be concerned during your orthodontic treatment. If something seems strange to you, do not hesitate to call. We will be happy to answer any questions or solve any problems you may have.

Bücco - Guide ortho
Instructions supplémentaires

Instructions supplémentaires

Instruments de musique

Certains instruments de musique ont des embouts qui viennent entre les dents lorsque vous jouez. Apportez l’embout de l’instrument à votre orthodontiste pour qu’il puisse voir où celui-ci vient en contact avec les dents ou les appareillages. Il pourra alors vous conseiller.

Sports

Pour protéger l’intégrité de vos appareils, il est également important de faire particulièrement attention lorsque vous pratiquez certains sports. Dans certains cas, le port d’un protecteur buccal peut être nécessaire (il est bien sûr interdit de pratiquer la boxe).
Vous pouvez vous baigner avec vos appareils car ils ne rouillent pas.

Vêtements

Faire attention à ne pas se tirailler et accrocher ainsi vos appareils dans le chandail du voisin. C’est mauvais pour les appareils… et pour le chandail.

Si quelque chose casse en bouche

Même si c’est seulement 1 ou 2 jours avant le rendez-vous, qu’il y ait ou non de la douleur ou de l’inconfort, prévenir immédiatement votre orthodontiste afin qu’il puisse se préparer en conséquence et ne pas prendre trop de retard. Aidez-nous à vous aider.

Douleurs en début de traitement

Les 2 ou 3 jours qui suivent chaque rendez-vous, surtout en début de traitement, les dents peuvent être sensibles. C’est malheureusement normal. Il faut, durant cette période, manger des choses molles. Si la douleur est trop intense, on peut utiliser un analgésique (ex : Tylénol, Advil).

La cire en bâtonnets qui vous est donné lors de la mise en bouche des boîtiers et des fils ne doit être utilisée que si vous ressentez une irritation quelconque lors du traitement. Cependant, les premiers 7 à 10 jours sont une période d’adaptation et l’irritation que vous allez ressentir (qui vous fera penser à une sensation de brûlure au niveau des lèvres et des joues) va tranquillement s’atténuer. Durant cette période, résistez au désir de mettre de la cire car les lèvres et les joues se renforçant, l’irritation disparaîtra. Pendant ces 10 jours d’adaptation, ne mettez de la cire qu’aux endroits qui sont les plus sensibles ou si un ulcère se déclare.

Il n’y a aucune raison d’être inquiet lors d’un traitement d’orthodontie. Si quelque chose vous semble curieux, n’hésitez pas à téléphoner à la clinique. Nous nous ferons un plaisir de répondre à vos questions et de régler le problème s’il y en a un.